Marc Anthony Dream Waves V.S. Captain Blankenship Mermaid Mane

beachwavesedit

It’s the perfect summer showdown, and the cage match is taking place in my hair! Sea salt spray versus sea salt spray, who will emerge victorious!?

You all may recognize our first competitor, Marc Anthony Dream Waves Beach Spray from my June 2014 Ipsy Glam Bag review; but let me introduce you to the challenger, Captain Blankenship’s Mermaid Mane Sea Salt Spray. I swapped for this product on a complete whim, wanting to try out different sea salt sprays since I liked Dream Waves so much. Plus, the name is way cute. I mean, who doesn’t want mermaid hair?

Crazy people, that’s who.

 

Marc Anthony Dream Waves Beach Spray

Marc Anthony Dream Waves Beach Spray

Captain Blankenship Mermaid Mane Sea Salt Spray

Captain Blankenship Mermaid Mane Sea Salt Spray

I went ahead and used the same “Before” image in both sets because I forgot to take one on the day I did the Marc Anthony spray. Professional Blogger here, watch out!

For both tests I washed and conditioned my hair the night before with Aveda’s Invati Shampoo and Conditioner, put in a dime sized amount of Aveda’s Be Curly Style-Prep, slept, brushed it out the next morning, and then applied the product to dry hair while scrunching.

I think both products provide an interesting variation of  the “beach wave” look. The Marc Anthony Spray really pumps up my volume and provides a more dramatic wave that actually leans closer to bouncy curls. Captain Blankenship is much more subtle and natural looking, but still definitely makes a difference when compared to my hair with no product. As far as product effectiveness goes, I’m going to have to give the victory to Marc Anthony because I am always looking for ways to get more volume. Never enough volume.

There are, of course, other things to consider when it comes to hair products. Like, smell, ingredients, and the texture of the product in your hair.

Marc Anthony’s Dream Waves has a prominent scent with fruity notes, where as Captain Blankenship a more natural scent that is very reminiscent of the ocean. As far as fragrance is concerned,  The Captain wins hands down on this. They’re both good scents, but when I caught a whiff of Blankenship I felt a pang of nostalgia for my childhood home in San Diego, California. So maybe I’m biased, but hey it’s my review.

When it comes to ingredients, there is also a pretty clear difference.

Captain Blankenship Ingredients: Water, Pacific Sea Salt, Organic Aloe Vera Gel, Organic Sea Kelp Extract, Organic Essential Oils of Palmarosa and Rose Geranium.

No parabens, no preservatives, no artificial fragrances; just wholesome, natural goodness. How delightful!

Marc Anthony Ingredients:  Water, Magnesium Sulfate, Proplene, Glycol, Polyquaternium-55, Polysorbate-20, PPG 5,  Ceteth-20, Hydrolyzed Silk, Benzophenone-4, Pathenol, Fragrance, Phenoxyethanol, Potassium Sorbate, Citric Acid

Yeah…. not so much. I don’t know how to pronounce  most of these ingredients; let alone what they are! Compared to the nice, organic list of Captain Blankenship’s product; Marc Anthony looks a little lackluster.

Which brings me around to my final point in this review. While Dream Waves does provide a more dramatic effect; you definitely will notice a build up in your hair. Captain Blankenship, on the other hand, actually makes my hair feel nicer. This probably has something to do with the fact that good ol’ Cap. has things like organic aloe gel and Organic sea kelp extract which are nourishing for the hair.

So, if I were trying to declare a victor based solely on product effectiveness, I’d have to go with Marc Anthony Dream Waves Beach Spray. But, Captain Blankenship’s Mermaid Mane Sea Salt Spray has won me over with it’s lovely scent and responsible ingredient list.

I’m afraid I’m going to have to declare this one a tie, ladies and gentlemen! Each product fills their own niche nicely. I’d be happy with either one in full size on my bathroom shelf, or better yet both!

What do you think? Between the two, which would you prefer? Does the ingredient list matter more to you than what the product can do, or vice versa?

 

 

Leave a Reply

